The Fast I Choose

Yikes, day 3 and I’m already a day behind (because today is actually day 4).  Oh well.  Keep plugging away.  Give yourself another chance.

Today’s reading is Isaiah 58: 1-9.  Verse 6 is a brave and radical statement:  Is this not the fast I choose: to loose the bonds of injustice, to undo the thongs of the yoke, to let the oppressed go free, and to break every yoke?

YES, this IS the fast I choose.  But actually carrying that out is another matter altogether.  How can I loose the bonds of injustice?  Is posting informational articles on Facebook enough?  Is preaching enough?  Does it really help to go down to the statehouse and stand as a silent crowd for or against any given topic?

Well, I think the answers to all those questions are keep doing what I’m doing.  It may not be enough, but it’s a start.  The more people who are informed the better.  The more people who are angry enough or frightened enough about what is happening around us, the more who will also speak up and vote and act to loose some of those bonds.

As bad as it would be to have a lot of the laws currently before legislatures pass, it would be worse if they passed and we sat and fumed in silence.  Speak up!  If enough people let their representatives (local, state, or national) know that what they want and what they do not want, it will affect how they vote – because after all, they want what the voting majority wants so they can get re-elected.

Wow, I’ve become cynical.  I used to be very idealistic.  No more.  And yet,  I have more hope for the future than I have ever had in my life.  That is because I may not have national influence, or state influence, or local influence, but what I do have is a mind and heart and I can make a small difference on my own.  I can band with others and together we can make a bigger difference.  I’ve tried it and I’ve seen it work.

No, the system is not going to change itself.  Those invested in it will do everything they can to keep it the way it is.  So forget the system.  I’ll ignore it and act around it. I’ll stop expecting it to get better and work to make things around me better in spite of the powers that be.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Fast I Choose

  1. abbiewatters says:

    I keep being reminded of what Mother Theresa said: “I can’t do EVERYTHING but I can do SOMETHING.” Sounds like you’ve come to the same place.

Leave a Reply

