This Story is Rated R

(the one where she’s finally blogging and not write another short sermon.)

Today’s story is from Genesis 9: 8-15.  The story of the rainbow.  What I’m really thinking is: why do we tell this story to little kids, much less decorate nursery walls with pictures of the ark?  This is a harsh and frightening story of near total destruction of the planet – and not just the people (who were, after all, sinning big time) but the animals too (at least the ones who didn’t make it on to the ark.)  If we told them the whole story they would be terrified, wouldn’t they?  There should definitely be age restrictions on some of these Bible stories.

Is the rainbow supposed to be comforting to us?  Don’t get me wrong, I love seeing rainbows in the sky after a rain.  They are beautiful – inspiring even.  But I don’t find them comforting.  I also don’t see them as some sort of sign from God, any more than I see any beauty in nature as a sign from God.  Is a beautiful flower a sign from God?  Well, I guess, in a way, but I wouldn’t want to read too much into that – like whether I should get married or not.

Of for heaven’s sake, no, this is not my way of saying that I have turned down yet another proposal of marriage.  You don’t really want to hear about that every single time it happens, do you?  I mean, it’s just the same old thing.

I guess I’ve never been a rainbow-as-metaphor kind of girl.  I never wanted to be a Rainbow Girl (nothing wrong with them as far as I know, I was just happy being a Girl Scout.  Happy 100th Birthday GSA!)  I was never into Rainbow Brite.  I rarely eat Skittles, although my 88 year old mother loves them.

Now unicorns are another matter.  Although I’ve never actually seen one myself, I confess that I am intrigued.  It’s not so much the one big spiral horn on their forehead, it’s the magic that surrounds them.  Unfortunately I am told they are a symbol of purity and grace and they could only be captured by a virgin.  So much for that.

But grace, ah grace, now there’s good topic; and a comforting one at that.  We receive God’s grace without earning or deserving it (virgin or not) and it is through grace that we are transformed into the people God longs for us to be.  Just today I read Anne Lamott saying “God loves us just as we are, but too much to let us stay like this.”  I don’t think it’s original to her, but I generally like the way she puts things, so why not quote her?  Also because, she’s right.

As Edith Ann used to say on Laugh-In, “And that’s the truth!  Pbbbt!”

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

