It’s fun to live at the Y.M.C.A.

Today’s reading is Isaiah 1: 10, 16-20.  Normally I am a great fan of Isaiah.  This passage -not so much.  These few verses are all about how dirty, awful, and sinful we are and how we need to get ourselves clean so we’ll be acceptable to God.  Well, I don’t believe that.  Oh, we are definitely sinful people, but we are already acceptable to God and it isn’t anything we do that gets us clean.  It’s what Jesus did.

I get seriously tired of talk about how awful we are and how we are bound for the eternal fires of hell if we don’t do something like make a decision and change our lives.  That does not fit into my theology and my theology is of the Reformed variety.  Nothing we do attains salvation for us.  God did it all.  Thank you, God. ( <—- no snark, I’m serious.)

One of my friends wrote a blog the other day about sex.  In it was the phrase “dirty, uncontrollable lust”.  You’d have to read the blog.  It was actually pro-sexual activity and in no way was sex considered by the author to be “dirty, uncontrollable lust”.  But isn’t that a great descriptive phrase?

Another one of my friends saw it and remarked “I saw your comment on that blog.  I thought: ‘dirty, uncontrollable lust’   That would be the best name for a pie or an ice cream flavor.  We all need more dirty, uncontrollable lust–with whipped cream!”

And so my dear friends, I am throwing down the gauntlet.  Go out from this place and create the most incredible pie or ice cream EVER.  Actually, let’s just leave this wide open.  Go out and create the most incredible dessert ever.  Then get back to me and let’s share our recipes.  In fact, let’s have a tasting party.  I long to throw a party with the theme of “Dirty, Uncontrollable Lust” and invite you all.

And we shall celebrate.  We shall celebrate the world and that is good in it – including us.  And there shall be joy throughout the land.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

