Oh Yeah!

Name that movie!  Anyone?  Anyone?  Bueller?  That’s right, “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”.

Oh how I have longed to call in sick recently and then actually go out and do all kinds of crazy things.  But the truth is that if I had taken a day I probably would have just gone back to bed.  Sometimes life is just exhausting.

But guess what happened today – I have a day off!  Yesterday I closed myself up in my office with the goal of having an entire rough draft of Sunday’s sermon finished before I went home.  I put my fingers on the keyboard of the computer and two hours later there was my sermon.  (EDITOR’S NOTE:  I had already done quite a bit of exegesis on Tuesday and that had been simmering in my unconscious until Friday.)  Now Folks, this hardly EVER happens.  Hardly.  Ever.

Generally, it takes me a good 6-8 hours just to get a first draft.  Sermon writing does not come easily to me.  I labor over it for hours.  Sometimes I’m lucky to get one or two sentences written in an hour.  Then once I get a rough draft finished I have to let it sit for at least a couple of hours and let it cool before I can go back and edit it into the masterpiece that you hear on Sunday morning.

But yesterday, it just came out.  I hardly paused at all.  I barely went back and glanced at my exegesis notes at all.  It just flowed out.  In other words, I didn’t write that sermon.  The Holy Spirit did.  If that concept doesn’t fit into your world view – fine, but that’s what it felt like to me.  Amazing, and a little scary even while it was happening.

So here I am with a Saturday that I do not have to spend writing a sermon all day.  I can get all kinds of projects done, but have I?  No, I’m just playing.  Ah, but nature abhors a vacuum.  Suddenly a crisis manifests that must be dealt with, so no more free day for me.

Still, I don’t have to worry about the sermon for tomorrow and that’s a relief.

Today’s reading is Psalm 103: 1-4, 9-12.”Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me bless God’s holy name!”  I cannot imagine why they left out verses 5-8.  It’s good stuff too.  Your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.  There is justice for the oppressed.  God is slow to anger and overflowing with steadfast love.

Whenever I that Psalm I can’t help but think of the corresponding song from the musical “Godspell.”

“Oh bless the Lord my soul!
His praise to thee proclaim!
And all that is within me join,
To bless His holy name!
Oh yeah!”

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

