Beware the Ides of March

This morning I was all set to write a post about how different people have different tastes and so enjoy or relate to different things, but it’s all okay.  Of course some people just have really bad taste but that doesn’t fit into where I was going and so I was going to leave that part out.

Then I had to stop and take care of a plumbing problem at the house.  I managed to do it by myself without calling the really cute guys at Bill Bradley (my BFFs every one), but it was disgusting and I hated it and it’s possible I thought words that matched what I was dealing with.  Then I didn’t have time to write my post.

So I went in to the office and managed to get almost the last of everything that needs to be done actually done, when suddenly an angel appeared in my office and said, “Do not be afraid, for I bring you good tidings of great joy.”  Actually she said, “Jeet yet?”  Then she kidnapped me and forced me to drive her to a restaurant where she proceeded to shovel huge amounts of delicious food into me.  Not like a sand pail shovel.  More like a snow shovel.  We briefly toyed with playing Whale on the Beach for the rest of the afternoon, but decided we had to be grown ups with responsibilities.  Still, I looked over at those trees in the front yard of the church and couldn’t help thinking they were perfect to hang a hammock between.

I have a hammock.

So I struggled to stay awake until my meeting at 5:00 pm which was to be held at another restaurant.  I had to stop at every single stop light between the church and the restaurant which is way over on the other side of town.  For anyone reading this who lives someplace like Houston or Austin or the Metroplex, that means a 20 minute ride.  With lights.  I thought I would never get there, but it was a great meeting with many good ideas for the present and the future.

So I got some great more delicious food to go and brought it back home to share with my mother.  I thought I was finally done for the night but no such luck.  Let’s just say there was more unpleasantness (Not with my mother, and no, Sarah, not our fish texts.)

Bottom line it has been a day of highs and lows.  I am tired and wired – not a good combination (but a decent rhyme).  Still I am thankful for all God has done and is doing and will do.

Today’s reading is Psalm 95: 1-2, 6-9.  Let us worship God. Let us lay down before God all that we have and all that we are and all that we think and feel.  Let us turn it all over to God for God’s purposes – our highs and our lows.  Our laughter and our tears.  Our anger and our fear.  Take it and use it.  Take it and use me.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

