Saturday’s Child

On Saturday nights the goal was to finish my bath (including washing my hair) in time to sit down and watch The Carol Burnett Show – “I’m so glad we had this time together just to have a laugh or sing a song.  Seems we just get started and before you know it comes the time we have to say ‘So long’.”

Mannix (I loved Gail) (well, not like a crush, but she was a great character and an unusual one in the 60s.  White men on TV didn’t usually have black secretaries back then.  I didn’t then and don’t now know any private detectives so I don’t know about the reality of it.) – okay that theme song is harder to do because it was an instrumental, I do still remember it and will gladly sing it for you the next time I see you.

and Mission Impossible – again, an instrumental, but just the sound of the fuse lighting and that theme song was so exciting.

How I ever got to sleep on Saturday nights after watching Mission Impossible I’ll never know.  Every single week something completely unexpected would happen and I was sure that at least some of the impossible mission force would be left behind in enemy territory or killed, in which case the secretary would disavow any knowledge of their existence.  There were elaborate plans, daring acrobatic stunts, and the disguises were phenomenal.  And all this back when there was no CGI and precious special effects on TV at all.

Oh I miss that show.  Jim Phelps, and Willie, and Cinnamon and Rollin (who were married in real life at the time.)  I never see reruns of it.  Who owns those rights?  The movies IMNSHO do not begin to compare to the old TV series.

Today’s reading is Isaiah 49: 1-6.  Your mission, should you decide to accept it, is to be a light to the nations.  This may not be an impossible mission, but it certainly isn’t an easy one – especially when your “people” think that is a bad idea.  What in the world could God be thinking?  Take his light to all the nations?  Yes, even way back in Isaiah’s time.

Hey, wait, isn’t that when they were in exile in Babylon?  So they were supposed to shine God’s light right where they were whether they wanted to be there or not.

So let your light so shine before men [sic]
Let your light so shine
So that they might know some kindness again
We all need help to feel fine (let’s have some wine!) ~ Stephen Schwartz

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

