Bragging Rights? I think not.

Sometimes I think I really know a lot.  And I do.  About some things.  Sometimes I think I don’t know anything.  And I don’t.  Not much anyway.  That about sums it up.

I never dreamed that people would want to read about my boring life, much less relate to it.  Oh I know that not everything about my life is boring.  Granted, I do have a way of taking the mundane and drawing the adventure out of it.  But for a girl who loves excitement….well, let’s just say that if you read the description of my life in TV Guide I don’t think you’d tune in.  On the other hand, Seinfeld lasted 180 episodes and it was a show about nothing.

There’s a lesson there if I’m willing to learn it.  Even the mundane can be interesting and funny.  It’s all about perspective.  And spin.  I can be a good spinner.  Maybe I should go into politics.  No, I am too honest.  Not that I’m completely honest, just too honest for politics.

It feels like politics is at a low ebb these days, but I’m afraid the truth is that politics have always been like this.  The only time we come together to work for the common good is when we find ourselves battling a common enemy.

If that’s the way it has to be, couldn’t we pick a worthy enemy to battle together?  Couldn’t we say, decide that every child in this country (we’ll move on to the whole world eventually) should have a fair and decent chance at life?  That’s part of the American Ideal, but it is not a reality.  Many children are dealt bad hands even before they are born.  It’s not their fault, but just how much responsibility to do we have for all the children?  That’s where we disagree and argue and ultimately far too many of these kids falls through the cracks.

I hate that children in this country wake up hungry and go to bed hungry.  I hate that Medicaid is about to get AGAIN by this state and we will lose matching funds from the federal government.  Most people have no idea how many children in this state that will affect or how.  I hate that they do not all have a trusted adult who will look out for them except for the social workers from the Department of Human Resources and their hands are tied a lot of the time.  I hate that children are abused physically and emotionally and no one steps in to protect them.  I hate that public education is so low a priority that even the blessed magnet schools have paint peeling off the walls.  I hate that it doesn’t really take that much time or money to make a huge dent in these inequities but we still won’t do anything about it because it means raising our taxes.

Hate is a strong word.  I don’t use it lightly.  And no, I don’t want to pay more taxes but we need to folks.  No one in this state should be allowed to brag about how low our taxes are when the children of this state are suffering because of it.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bragging Rights? I think not.

  1. Kathy Neece says:

    Speaking of the children, I am constantly amazed at how strongly people feel about a child’s right to be born, but then we seem to lose interest in them once they arrive. I don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

