Where? Down In My Heart!

I am in a whole different place tonight than I was last night.  It’s amazing what 24 hours, a good night’s sleep, a deep conversation with someone in need, and struggling to write the end of a sermon (but finally getting there) can do to change one’s perspective.

Yesterday I was, in my own words, profoundly sad.  Today I am concerned, but not sad.  In fact, today I have a great deal of peace.  Paul wasn’t kidding.  This stuff really does pass all understanding.  And I am grateful.

It’s not that I feel all that good.  I’m still pretty tired and will probably go to bed early again tonight.  It’s that I feel so much better that it can pass for good.  There’s that word pass again.  Hmmm…

In the meantime I am letting my sermon cool off before I make a final edit and send it off to my Sermon List on the Interwebs, and I’m joking with friends on Twitter.  I have made so many friends on Twitter that it astounds me.  It’s hard to believe now that I ever hesitated to try it.

Yes, I have met some of these people in person after first meeting them on Twitter.  So far it has never been a disappointment.  And there are many more that I look forward to meeting someday.

So, without belaboring the point: prayer works – don’t ask me how, but it does, peace is available and it really does pass understanding, and make new friends (on or off line) but keep the old, one is silver and the other gold.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where? Down In My Heart!

  1. Kathy Neece says:

    Good to hear.

Leave a Reply

