This Calls for a Little Re-Creation

So what would I rather be doing?

Relaxing on the beach in a lounge chair pulled just far enough into surf that when a wave comes in it will gently lift me up off the chair and then set me back down again.  We like to call this tide therapy.  Barring a trip to the beach, floating in a private swimming pool either by myself or with only one other person that I like to talk to.

Cooking up a storm of delicious delicacies. Baking fresh fruit pies with crust made from scratch.  Trying every single cobbler recipe I’ve ever seen to figure out which one is my favorite.  Creating new recipes with unusual ingredients that don’t seem like they would go together but actually do.  Feeding all this fantastic food to people who like to eat but are not adventurous cooks.

Painting a series of giant flowers reminiscent of Georgia O’Keeffe and having them be good enough that someone actually recognizes that is what I was trying to do.  It doesn’t matter if they are as good as hers because they will be mine.

Finding a really comfortable chair that supports my back and is in good light where I may sit and read entire books, or at least spend an entire day sitting in a descent chair reading a book.

Hearing some really good live music of almost any genre in a climate controlled setting without excessive heat and humidity or an outside venue with low humidity and a pleasantly low temperature, possibly chilly enough to warrant a sweater.

Talking and laughing and drinking with old friends until we are too exhausted to stay awake and then getting up the next day to do it all over again.

Having just enough money tucked away that if I am frugal I won’t have to worry about whether or not I am adequately employed for the rest of my life.  Not needing to be employed for the entire rest of my life.

Oh, I slipped into Fantasyland there.  The other things are all doable.  That last one is much harder.  I am on much more solid financial ground than many people I know, but it’s just shaky enough that I completely understand the strain of not being sure about tomorrow.

I have a week of vacation coming up.  How many of these things do you think I can manage to do?  Hopefully at least two.  Any other suggestions?

 

 

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

