Alexander Had the Right Idea

Suddenly I opened my eyes.  It was morning but there were still ten minutes before the alarm would go off.  Should I try to does for those last ten minutes?  No, actually for the first time in recent memory I felt, well, awake.  I crawled out of bed and took a shower.  I managed to get the just a pea-sized dab of product out of the tube to work into my hair which dried with no trouble at all.  Wow, a good hair day.  It’s been a while.

I turned on the Keurig coffee pot anticipating the perfect cup of coffee and sat down to check my emails, my Facebook stream and my Tweets.  So many links to interesting and entertaining stores but no matter how many I clicked, I still had plenty of time until I needed to finished getting dressed and get to work.

I made almost all the traffic lights and pulled right into my space in the church lot.  It’s not really my space.  It’s a handicapped space, but as long as there aren’t any meetings scheduled during the day I commandeer it as my own personal space.  I really should get one of those portable signs that says “Don’t Even Think About Parking Here” like Sherman Hemsley had on “Amen.”  Except he wasn’t the Pastor.  He was the Deacon who ran the church, or who thought that he did.  Funny show.  Thank goodness no one in my church does that sort of thing.

I crossed off half my “To Do” list before lunch and then managed to get all my errands run when I went out for a sandwich.  I even remembered to stop and fill up my gas tank while the prices were still low.

There were no messages left for me while I was gone and no calls to return.  I settled in for some hopefully uninterrupted time writing on this Sunday’s sermon.  I meditated in complete quiet for a few minutes and then began to type.  Before I knew it I had a complete first draft – one that was good enough to preach as is if some emergency should arise and I didn’t have time to go back and edit it.

Crossing the last few things off my “To Do” list (and it’s only Wednesday!), I straightened up my desk a little and it definitely needed it.  What should I find under a stack of papers but a check I had neglected to include in my last deposit and just in time for the quarterly estimated tax payments which are due next week.

So I headed home a little early and as soon as I opened the kitchen door I could smell the roast I left in the crockpot that morning.  I poured a glass of wine and sat down for a few minutes to myself before a delicious dinner that was ready to scoop onto the plates.

Yeah.  None of that happened.  Well, I did go get a sandwich for lunch and fill up my gas tank.  Otherwise, none of it.  It was a Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.  I struggled to hold back tears more than once.  In fact, tears did start running down my face when I read a message from a friend about how he had been  criticized by church members for having the wrong area code in his cell phone number (which he wrote in response to another friend reporting being criticized for having the wrong county on her license plate.)

What I really wanted to do was get in my car and drive as far as that full tank of gas would take me.  But I didn’t.  I plugged away.  I answered the phone.  I soothed people’s feelings.  I got with someone and brainstormed answers to a dilemma.  I struggled some more.  I tried to work ahead so that my upcoming week of vacation didn’t come with a price tag of unresolved work that was too big to pay and would make a week off not worth it.

But it is only Wednesday.  And I do have all day tomorrow to get some things done.  If the phone doesn’t ring off the hook.  If no one winds up in the hospital.  If the power stays on in the building.  If….

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alexander Had the Right Idea

  1. Lynn Bledsoe says:

    Candi, you had me going there for a while! I was envious that you were so PRODUCTIVE. Alas, blessings on the rest of the week. I can tell you that according to the Chinese calendar, Friday, Saturday AND Sunday are auspicious days – so whatever happens between now and then, you will have an awesome sermon and all who are with you will be blessed, as will you!

    • candivernon says:

      I’m sure the sun’ll come out tomorrow – bet cher bottom dollar! Everybody has a bad day now and then. This one was pretty bad, but I suppose it could have been worse. Hopefully tomorrow will be better.

Leave a Reply

