So How Did You Two Meet?

You’d think that would be an easy question to answer, wouldn’t you? Well the short answer is easy: Twitter.

Twitter? Really? Yep, and now for the long answer.

Honestly I don’t remember exactly when it happened or who followed whom first. It was probably January of 2012 if not a couple of months earlier. I do remember that one of our first Twitter conversations was about his Twitter avatar which was a photo of Cary Grant. I asked, “Is that from North By Northwest?” (It was. I recognized the suit immediately.) That led to a discussion of Hitchcock films. His favorite was Vertigo. Mine was North By Northwest, hence my familiarity with the suit. By the end of our discussion I had invited him to come to my house in Montgomery, Alabama, for grilled cheese sandwiches and a Hitchcock movie. Of course since he lives in Louisville, Kentucky, I knew the odds weren’t good that he’d show up anytime soon. But you never know.

You really never know.

We continued to have friendly conversations on Twitter every couple days or so for the next few months. Then one day in July 2012 everything suddenly changed. We had been saying silly little flirty things to each other all along. I had even referred to him to my friends as my Twitter Boyfriend. But it was all very casual. Plus I’m older than he is and I knew this (whatever it was) wasn’t actually going to go anywhere. But that day our silly flirtations crossed a boundary and we quickly found out there was no turning back. Soon we were not only tweeting, we were sending each other long emails, often more than once a day. And then the phone calls began.

Our first phone call we talked about all kinds of things, serious and not. Movies, cooking, politics. We even got into a deep theological/philosophical discussion about something. I don’t remember now, but it was deeper than any conversation I had ever had with someone I had never met IRL (in real life for anyone who isn’t used to acronyms used in social media.)

Then suddenly I began to yawn and realized I had absolutely nothing left to say. Well, I figured, that was that. It was fun while it lasted. Then I looked at the clock and saw that it was after midnight. We had been talking for over four hours. And we both had to go to work the next morning.  I wasn’t bored. I was tired.

For weeks we continued to tweet, text, email and talk on the phone. Finally we decided we needed to meet IRL. By that time it was already November 2012 and I was thoroughly infatuated (and suspected he was too.) We met just before Thanksgiving and the whole deal was pretty much sealed right away. Not that I let myself feel sure at the time. There were so many road blocks – a seven hour drive on I-65 being one of them. It seemed crazy to me. I couldn’t imagine how it could ever work out, but we never looked back.

We don’t tweet all that much any more. We hardly ever email each other except to send links to sites on the internet. But we still text. We text all day everyday. Hundreds of texts daily. We know each other better than, well, people who have known each other long time.

A lot can happen in two years. I signed up for Twitter and made many new friends, several of whom I’ve met IRL, one of whom I fell in love with. Now I am a fiancée. I’m about to be a bride and a wife, and a sister-in-law, and a daughter-in-law, and a stepmother (hopefully I can avoid being the wicked variety.) I’m selling my big hundred year old house in Montgomery and moving to Louisville.

I have no idea what it will really be like. But every day I am more convinced that it is exactly where I belong.

Check out our Wedding Plans page on this blog Called: Candi and Brian Are Getting Married.  (Look at the top where it says HOME, it should be right next to that, and click.)

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to So How Did You Two Meet?

  1. coleybird74 says:

    I love this story! It’s so romantic! Like Sleepless in Seattle or You’ve Got Mail but totally real! And it couldn’t have happened to a person more deserving of true love!!!! Yay!!!!

  2. Louise says:

    This is the perfect story for you to live, Candi! Beautiful! A blessing of God! *sigh*

  3. sukicosmo says:

    Thanks for sharing your story!
    Wonderful wonderful!

  4. A beautiful love story. I’m so glad that you two found each other. Having someone special to spend the rest of your life with makes life that much richer.

Leave a Reply

