What Do You Get the Couple Who Has Everything?

Well okay, we don’t have literally everything, but we do have everything we need.  Brian and I both have well-stocked kitchens and linen closets.  We own two sets of sterling silver flatware and two sets of fine china between us.  I even inherited a sterling tea and coffee service from my grandmother.  Nah, we don’t need more stuff.  The gift of your presence at our wedding or a card with your good wishes is more than enough for us.

However there are those who are in great need.  If you feel inclined to spend money on us, we ask that you donate to The Center for Women and Families (or the charity of your choice).  The Center for Women and Families helps victims of intimate partner abuse or sexual violence to become survivors through supportive services, community education and cooperative partnerships that foster hope, promote self-sufficiency and rebuild lives. In one form or another they have been around for 102 years and serve nine counties at five regional locations in Kentuckiana (that’s the area in northern Kentucky and southern Indiana.)  For more information about The Center and the tremendous work they do please click here.

If you would like to make a donation in our honor, please send your check to The Center for Women and Families, PO Box 2048, Louisville, Kentucky 40201 and write them a note saying it is in honor of the wedding of Candasu Vernon and Brian Cubbage.  Or you may wish to donate online by clicking here or simply go to their web site and click the red Donate Now at the bottom of the home page. If you donate online be sure to put our names in the Comments section.

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE!

6206409_44bee55bb8

Photo Credit: Michael Sarver via Compfight cc

We are asking everyone who is able to attend the wedding in person to bring an unopened box of cereal.  Any kind of ready-to-eat cereal.  This will also be donated to The Center for Women and Families for those who come to The Center for shelter.  Cereal?  Yes, there’s a story here.

When Brian and I were first falling in love he was teaching a philosophy class at Indiana University Southeast on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  Almost every trip back to Louisville included a store at the grocery on the way home.  One night he texted, “Guess where I’m going.”  Well of course I was pretty sure he was headed to the grocery store but instead I guessed, “Paris.”  From then on we began to refer to the grocery store as Paris.

At that time in my life I was also extremely busy with my job in Montgomery, Alabama, and caring for my mother who lived with me.  Just about the only time I really had to myself was when I was in Paris.  I often used that time not only to shop but to carry on long text conversations with Brian.  On one occasion we were talking about how romantic Paris had become for us. I said that I wished I could kiss him right then in the most romantic spot in the store – the cereal aisle.

The very next time we saw each other in person we made it a point to drive to the closest grocery store and kiss in the cereal aisle. I still think about that kiss every time I push my cart past the Cheerios and Frosted Flakes.  We’ve also both taken lots of selfies in the cereal aisle to send to each other.  It’s kind of our spot.  And now you can understand why cereal is one of the most romantic things in the world to us and why we want to fill the “gift” table at our reception with boxes of cereal.

I know, I should have warned you how sweet this story is so you make sure you had extra insulin on hand.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Do You Get the Couple Who Has Everything?

  1. Pingback: Candi and Brian’s Wedding: FAQ’s | candigram

Leave a Reply

