A Guy With a Pin to Burst Your Bubble

Today someone commented on my post from yesterday about what to wear (and what not to wear) to our wedding in June. That comment prompted me to check out the visitor stats on this blog and I saw that someone had read one of my posts from two years ago called “Confession: I Used to be a Goth.” I barely remembered the post so I went back and read it again.

Wow, a lot can change in two years.

A lot has changed in two years.

Two years ago I had given up on romance and requited love – at least as far as I was concerned. I had certainly given up on ever getting married. I no longer felt the songs on the radio were for me. I didn’t identify with the main characters in the rom coms. I thought most of the plots were ridiculous and unrealistic. I had given up.

Little did I know at the time that I had already made contact with the man I would fall in love with and am about to marry. I was still singing, “I’ll never fall in love again.” As I reread that two-year old post I couldn’t help but remember the words to that song: What do you get when you fall in love? A guy with a pin to burst your bubble.

And you know what? That’s exactly what I got. A guy with a pin to burst my bubble.

And he did burst my bubble. It was a bubble of unfulfilled longing and dreams. It was a bubble of undesirability. It was a bubble of loneliness. He burst that bubble and brought me back to reality – the reality of who I actually am. Some of this reality is brand new to me. Some of it was long-forgotten. All of it fits and becomes more comfortable every day.

I know that’s not what Hal David meant when he wrote the words to “I’ll Never Fall in Love Again” for the musical “Promises, Promises.” But when falling in love creates a bubble, that’s not really love. That’s infatuation and it is a fragile illusion from which it is easy to become disillusioned. Love is not an illusion. It is reality. It is the freedom to be yourself. It is the freedom to encourage someone else to be himself (or herself).

I’m so glad I met this guy with a pin to burst my bubble.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Guy With a Pin to Burst Your Bubble

  1. daydreamer4900 says:

    I am so glad that you met some one to make you happy.  

Leave a Reply

