Not All Who Wander Are Lost

Although I have lived in Louisville for nearly three years now I still have difficulty finding my way around unfamiliar parts of town. The truth is that I tend to stick to the streets and neighborhoods that I already know, but sometimes and lately quite often, I am compelled to explore new territory. I am grateful to have GPS on my phone, but it doesn’t always get me there. I’m not lost exactly, okay, sometimes I am lost. Sometimes I can see where I need to end up but the roads, especially one-way streets, just won’t take me there. Sometimes the directions are just wrong and then there is nothing else to do but turn around and head back the way I came.

Life is like that sometimes. To be truthful, my life is frequently like that. I mean well. I start out right. But then suddenly I realize, or am forced to admit, that I am lost. I’ve come to the wrong place and I need to go back and start over. I don’t necessarily have to go all the way back to the beginning, just back to the place where I got off the right path. Then I can turn and start off in the right direction again.

This is what it means to repent. (Yep, today I am building on yesterday’s post, which I confess I actually wrote today but I’m all caught up on my Lenten devotionals now.) Repent doesn’t just mean to realize you are wrong and say you are sorry. Realizing you are wrong and saying and/or feeling
sorry about it is a good start, but it’s not enough. We need to turn back. We need to head back toward God.

Part of the process of turning around and heading back toward God is simply to seek good. It’s easy to be overcome with all the terrible things being done in the world near and far today, but the truth is that the world has always been like this. No, I don’t mean that exact same things are happening, although in some cases that is true. I mean that the world has always had terrible things being done near and far.

But here’s some good news: the world has also always had good things being done near and far. I’m not kidding. If you look, and granted sometimes you have to look hard, but if you look hard enough you will find good things both large and small being done all over the world.

The Prophet says in Amos 5:14, “Seek good, not evil, that you may live. Then the Lord God Almighty will be with you, just as you say he is.”

Seek out the good that is being done in the world. Seek out the good that you can do in the world. It doesn’t matter if it is something big or small. Remember those small things add up quickly and sometimes it those small good things that make a whole world of difference.

The Lord be with you.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

