Is Anybody There? Does Anybody Care?

Oh there are days when I feel like I am all alone. Let’s be honest, I believe that most of us have felt that way before. Our problems, our weaknesses, the state of the whole world starts weighing down on us and it is overwhelming. Sometimes we find ourselves praying the same thing over and over and it doesn’t seem like anything is changing and maybe we even start to wonder, “Is anybody there? Does anybody care? Does anybody see what I see?” Sherman Edwards wrote these lyrics for the musical “1776”.

Does anybody see what I see? Because, seriously, something needs to be done! And even if I knew what to do, I can’t do it by myself. I can’t.

In the second letter to the church in Corinth, the 6th chapter, verse 2, we hear “See, now is an acceptable time; see, now is a day of salvation!”

Yes, God is here. Yes, God cares. Yes, God sees what is happening. Yes, things are changing, but often what is changing is not the world around us. What is changing is us. An acceptable time, a day of salvation, is the time when we stop looking for someone to come and fix things and begin to understand our part in God’s plan for salvation for the world, small though it may be. Open your eyes, an acceptable time is now! Open your eyes, now is a day of salvation!

Now is a good time for us to open our eyes and see; to open our ears and hear; to let go of our own wills and seek God’s will.

It’s not our plan, it’s God’s plan. It’s not our time frame, it’s in God’s time. We don’t know all the details and we are not responsible for the ultimate success of the plan. Nevertheless, God uses us to help bring this about. When should all this occur? Well, now is a good time to get started with God’s help.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

