I Wanna Be In this Hoi Polloi

Even if you only know me from reading my blog posts, you’ve probably figured out that I am a fan of musicals. Well, actually I’m a fan of pretty much all music. I constantly have some song or another playing in my head. I wake up with a song and I go to sleep with one. Rarely are these songs of my choosing, in fact they often seem to appear out of nowhere.

Right this minute the song in my head is from the musical Wicked by Stephen Schwartz. This time the song, “One Short Day”, did not start playing in my head without warning, but it did instantly occur to me after reading Psalm 84 this morning.
“One Short Day”
One short day
In the Emerald City
One short day
Full of so much to do
Ev’ry way
That you look in the city
There’s something exquisite
You’ll want to visit
Before the day’s through

The two main characters in the story have just one day to spend in the Emerald City, a place which they’ve both heard about their whole lives but neither has ever visited before. They are immediately entranced and can hardly decide what to do next, but they are convinced it will be the best day of their lives so far and will only be surpassed when they are finally able to live there permanently.

Are there really places like that? Well, maybe not exactly like that, but close. There are certainly places they are advertised as being like that. Sometimes they live up to the hype, often they don’t or at least not completely. There are also some places that you discover quite by accident that are so wonderful that they feel almost magical. You hate to leave and can’t wait to return. Yes, there are places like that.

Psalm 84 talked about a place like that. It is the court of God, or maybe we should say the Kingdom of God. The psalmist tell us, “For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than live in the tents of wickedness.”

One day in the Kingdom of God is better than a thousand days anywhere else. Even better than the Emerald City. Even better than Disney World. Even better than New York City. Even better than Austin, Texas.

Yeah, it’s that good. And one day we will live there permanently.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

