So Much Left to Know, and I’m on the Road to Find Out

I loved Cat Stevens’ version of “Morning Has Broken” when I was in high school. It allowed me to connect to one of the hymns in our hymnal at church. That hymnal was full of songs they were just not my style of music as a teenager. In the decades since I have grown to love many of those hymns, but back then I was still in the beginning steps of my journey of faith.

Over the years I have continued on that journey. I understand so much more than I used to, although mostly what I understand now is that there is so much more to learn. I have experienced God in my life during the highs and lows and the long periods of in between. I know God so much better, but I still don’t completely know God. I went back to school and got a Master of Divinity degree from seminary. I jokingly tell people I have a Master’s in Sunday School, but there is actually a lot of truth in that statement. I continue to learn, but there is so much more.

Cat Stevens wrote and sang another song that has come to represent for me the story of my life and faith journey. It’s called “The Road to Find Out” and it includes the following lines:

So on and on I go, the seconds tick the time out
So much left to know, and I’m on the road to find out

In the end I’ll know
But on the way I wonder

I’m still on the road to find out, and I definitely still wonder about all kinds of things. I wonder what goes on in the hearts and minds of people that cause them to hate each other. I wonder why I continue to make some of the same mistakes and bad choices over and over again. I wonder about God and what God’s will for this world as a whole and my life in particular looks like. I wonder.

But this I know: The Primary Commandment for life is to love God with all our heart, all our soul, all our mind, and all our strength – love God with everything we have and everything we are. And the Second Commandment is similar and that is to love whoever needs us as we love ourselves.

One day one of the scribes came to Jesus and asked him which of God’s laws was the most important. Jesus told him what I just paraphrased in the paragraph above. Then the scribe affirmed Jesus for saying that there is one God and beside him there is no other. Then Mark says in 12:34, “When Jesus saw that he answered wisely, he said to him, ‘You are not far from the kingdom of God.’ After that no one dared to ask him any question.”

The Kingdom of God is near. All we have to do is stay on the road to find out.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

