What a Wonderful World

“What a Wonderful World” was written Bob Thiele (as “George Douglas”) and George David Weiss and recorded by Louis Armstrong in 1967. I generally think of Louis Armstrong as a trumpet player, although I don’t really remember there being much if any trumpet in “What a Wonderful World”.

But I do think that Louis Armstrong played the trumpet like an angel. Not that I thought he or his playing was sweetly angelic. I’m thinking more along the terms of a fierce angel who is able to get everyone’s attention to make important announcements.

I can’t think of a more important announcement than this one from Revelation 11:15, “Then the seventh angel blew his trumpet, and there were loud voices in heaven, saying,‘The kingdom of the world has become the kingdom of our Lord and of his Messiah, and he will reign for ever and ever.’”

I can’t read that verse without Handel’s “Hallelujah Chorus” from Messiah playing in my head, and when that happens I am always singing along with the altos. But the truth is that my favorite version is from Messiah: A Soulful Celebration by various artists, executive produced by Norman Miller, Gail Hamilton and Mervyn Warren.

Ah, yes, we have been promised a life in the Kingdom of God and there Christ shall reign forever and ever. What a wonderful world. Hallelujah!

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

