I Will Be Right Here Waiting for You

I found myself sitting in the waiting room of a doctor’s office the other day. It was nice as waiting rooms go. The chairs were comfortable. The temperature suited me. There was even a television that was not turned on to any news channel, but rested on HGTV.

Unfortunately, the doctor was running behind in his appointments. Way behind. Over an hour behind. I had the opportunity to see a whole episode of an HGTV show I had never seen before. Then another episode. And another. I liked the show, but… Yeah, after a while I was just tired of waiting.

It’s hard to wait sometimes. It’s especially hard when you don’t know how long you are going to have to wait. That’s when the waiting begins to feel as if it has no end, and you start to envision yourself waiting for the rest of your life.

Some things are worth waiting for, others are not worth it. We each have to make our own decisions about what is or isn’t worth waiting for, and our choices might change as time goes on. But there are some things always worth waiting for. One of those is God.

I’m not talking about waiting for God to show up. God isn’t Godot. I believe God is always here with us, whether we perceive God’s presence or not. I’m talking about waiting for God’s time – the time to act, the time stay still, the time to think, the time to choose – kind of like those seasons in Ecclesiastes.

Psalm 130:5 declares, “I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope.” While the human, vulnerable, weak part of me often has trouble waiting, my soul is much more patient. The essence of my existence is able to stop and rest almost outside of time. And while I wait, I rest in hope in the word of God. I rest in the hope of forgiveness. I rest in the hope of second and third and fourth chances. I rest in the hope of love. I rest in the hope of opportunities to share that love and to serve in that love.

Emily Dickinson once wrote that “Hope is the thing with feathers that perches in the soul, and sings the tune without the words, and never stops at all, and sweetest in the gale is heard; and sore must be the storm that could abash the little bird that kept so many warm.”

Hope is indeed a wonderful thing. It can be life-giving, nurturing, sustaining. Hope makes waiting not only bearable, but often pleasurable. My soul waits for Love and in God’s word, Love’s word, I hope, and there I place my trust.

About candivernon

I used to be Candi Vernon, but now I'm Candi Vernon Cubbage. I write, therefore I am a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

